Reminder – Book Hyatt awards before January 7, 2014

As we had mentioned in November, Hyatt is changing its award chart effective January 7 2014. It is increasing redemption amounts for certain award categories, primarily those for the higher end properties.

There are 38 hotels shifting categories, including 21 going up, and 17 going down. They are also introducing a new Category 7, which will require 30,000 points per night.

Here are the old and new charts:


Old chart

New chart

New chart

For standard rooms in categories 1-4, the points redemption will stay the same. However, category 5 properties go up from 18,000 to 20,000 points per night, and category 6’s are going from 22,000 to 25,000 points per night.

If you have an award booking in one of the 17 properties that are going down, call Hyatt after the change to get them adjusted.  Here is a list of properties that are going down:

  • Hyatt House Chicago/Naperville/Warrenville
  • Hyatt Place Chicago Warrenville/Naperville
  • Hyatt Place Cincinnati-Northeast
  • Hyatt Place Dallas/Grapevine
  • Hyatt Place Fort Worth/Cityview
  • Hyatt Place San Antonio Airport/Quarry Market
  • Hyatt Place San Antonio-Northwest/Medical Center
  • Hyatt North Houston
  • Hyatt Regency Incheon
  • Park Hyatt Chennai
  • Park Hyatt Hyderabad
  • Hyatt Capital Gate, Abu Dhabi
  • Hyatt Regency Changbaishan
  • Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort and Spa
  • Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe
  • Hyatt Regency Maui
  • Park Hyatt Changbaishan

More importantly and time sensitive, if you have an award stay that you are planning for 2014 and your property is one of the 21 going up, book now to guarantee the lower rate!  Below is a list of properties going up:

  • Hyatt Place Columbus/OSU
  • Hyatt Place Dallas/Arlington/Grand Prairie
  • Hyatt Place Dublin/Pleasanton
  • Hyatt Place San Antonio North/Stone Oak
  • Grand Hyatt Jakarta
  • Grand Hyatt Sao Paulo
  • Hyatt Place New Orleans Convention Center
  • Hyatt Place South Bend/Mishwaka
  • Hyatt Place West Palm Beach
  • Hyatt Regency Osaka
  • Grand Hyatt Melbourne
  • Hyatt Regency Cambridge
  • Hyatt Regency Louisville
  • Hyatt Regency Perth
  • Andaz West Hollywood
  • Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
  • Hyatt Place New York/Midtown South
  • Park Hyatt Melbourne
  • Andaz Liverpool Street London
  • Hyatt 48 Lex
  • Hyatt Union Square New York

In addition to the properties changing levels above, the following 6 properties are being moved to the new category 7 requiring 30,000 points per night.

  • Park Hyatt Beaver Creek
  • Park Hyatt Milan
  • Park Hyatt Paris Vendome
  • Park Hyatt Sydney
  • Park Hyatt Tokyo
  • Park Hyatt Zurich

Hopefully you can save a few points by planning ahead for 2014 before the rates change on January 7th, 2014.

This entry was posted in Hyatt, Hyatt Gold Passport. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *