Hyatt devalues its award chart – time to start booking!

As with every miles and points cat and mouse game, Hyatt has come out and announced that effective January 7 2014, it is increasing redemption amounts for certain award categories, primarily those for the higher end properties.

There are 38 hotels shifting categories, including 21 going up, and 17 going down. They are also introducing a new Category 7, which will require 30,000 points per night.

Here are the old and new charts:


Old chart

New chart

New chart

For standard rooms in categories 1-4, the points redemption will stay the same. However, category 5 properties go up from 18,000 to 20,000 points per night, and category 6’s are going from 22,000 to 25,000 points per night.

That being said, it’s time to start booking some stays before the prices going up next year, so if you’re planning any vacations, start booking!


This entry was posted in Hyatt, Hyatt Gold Passport. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *